L’Impératrice — Peur des filles

“Peur des Filles” continues to trace the red thread of a now much-awaited second album : “Tako Tsubo”, to be released for Spring 2021 by microqlima records, produced by L’Impératrice and Renaud Letang (Feist, Philippe Katerine…) and mixed by Neal Pogue (Tyler the Creator, Outkast, Janelle Monae…).

Tako Tsubo is the official name for “the broken-heart syndrome” (蛸 壺, from Japanese “octopus trap”), which manifests itself by a deformation of the heart due to an intense emotion – a negative or positive one.

This title illustrates a flaw in the system, an abnormal EKG, an unusual break from the frenzy.

Wouldn’t that be what the Great Lockdown of 2020 was all about? All composed straddling a strange time, each of the 13 Songs on the album is somehow a symptom of it.

L’Impératrice lends itself brilliantly to this open heart surgery.